Region VI Planning and Development Council

Creating strategies to advance the development of north central West Virginia

About Us

Region VI was established by the 1971 West Virginia Regional Planning & Development Act. Its mission is to establish actionable strategies and plans that are responsive to the economic development needs of north-central West Virginia and lay the groundwork for implementable projects and programs.

In West Virginia, Region VI, along with the other regional councils, is structured as locally oriented, public corporation. The councils are directed by elected officials and appointees from a cross-section of the region’s social and economic institutions. Region VI has 68 board members, representing the following six counties, Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, and Taylor, and 39 municipalities.